Snowdrop Time At Painswick

IMG_2585-0
Each year, during Late January and February, hundreds of people visit Painswick to enjoy the magnificent swathes of Snowdrops for which the Rococo Garden is famous. I began my residency here last April, so I’ve had to wait for nine months before I could begin to explore the potential of Snowdrop leaf Anthotypes. Today I began my experiments and am delighted to write that my colour swatches show great promise.
IMG_2895
When crushed, the leaves emit a delightfully fresh scent that reminds me of pea pods. As I’d collected them in the rain, I didn’t add water for these first samples. The dye is a pretty Spring green of good opacity. One coat may well be enough.

Later this week, I’ll be back in the garden to coat some papers with delicious Snowdrop dye, but I must be patient for a few months more because it will be late March before conditions are right to begin my first exposures.

A couple of weeks ago, I was paid a visit by Garden designer and writer Non Morris. She has written a beautiful blog post about her Winter trip to Gloucestershire. It can be found here.

8 thoughts on “Snowdrop Time At Painswick

  1. Mark Garrett

    Hello Nettie, thank you for spending so much time talking photography, it was a perfect day. I have ordered a hake brush and a pack of transparencies, so as soon as I have created an anthotype, perhaps from the Box Brownie photo’s, I shall be back. Mark

    Reply
    1. lumilyon Post author

      Hi Mark! It was great to spend time with you and benefit from your badger expertise. Looking forward to our next meet-up and yo seeing the results of your experiments.

      Reply
  2. cecilymariece

    Beautiful Nettie! I just read Non’s blog post that you mentioned and it is lovely!! Really delighted to see all the amazing papers and plant dyes you have created! I am so inspired by you and your work! xoxo cecily

    Reply

Leave a Reply

